August 27, 2021

How to Delete a wifi Network?

How do I delete my WiFi Router history?

Although most people don’t realize it, your wi-fi router keeps logs of all websites visited. You are not the only one who keeps logs, but all devices connected to the wi-fi network including those in incognito modes.

This presents serious privacy issues for you and requires you to take immediate action. You can protect your data and yourself by using a VPN or deleting the router’s history.

Here is a step-by-step guide that will help you access and remove the router history from your desktop browser.

Here are 6 steps to delete history from your WiFi Router

Step 1: Locate the router’s IP address

To access the router settings in your browser, you will need to know the IP address. An IP address is usually an eight-digit number in the format of ‘000.000.0.0. This number can be found in the manual of the router or by using the Command prompt (cmd on a Windows PC).

You can search for your manual by typing ‘cmd’ in the search bar. Or you can use the shortcut ‘CTRL+ R’ to type cmd. You will see a command prompt window.

Type this command in the window: ipconfig/all, and then press Enter.

How to Delete History from Wifi Router

Look in the results section for the value “Default Gateway”. Those eight numbers define your IP address. The most popular router IP addresses are 192.168.1.1 and 192.168.01.

How to Delete History from Wifi Router – default gateway

Step 2: Open the router settings

How to Delete Wifi Router History – enter your router IP address

Once you have your IP address, go to the address bar of your browser and enter it. This will take you to the router settings login page.

Each router comes with its default username/password written in the user manual. You can find the default login details online by visiting the manufacturer’s website if you don’t have your manual.

You can reset your router’s password if you forget it. Most routers use the default username Admin. The password can be 1234, or even a password. This may not work. Check the router’s back to see if your default username and password are printed.

You will have access to the settings dashboard by entering your administrator username and password.

Step 3: Go to the system logs

Your router history logs can be found in either the system logs section or the Administrative Events log section of your router dashboard. This section can be found on the navigation bar at the top or the left of the page, depending on which brand you have.

After the system log page has opened, you will be able to access a string of IP addresses (for each connected device) and the domain addresses of the websites visited.

Step 4: Clean the logs

Clearing the logs in the system logs is the final step. The bottom of the page should have a clear button. It will prompt you for confirmation if you wish to delete logs. All data will be deleted if you click yes.

If you have a future need for log information, it is a good idea to copy and paste the logs onto a hard drive.

You can choose to delete logs from specific devices that are connected to your router if you don’t wish to clear all logs.

This can be done by looking at the navigation bar for the attached devices feature. Different router brands may have different names.

This page shows you all connected devices to the wi-fi and allows you to view logs for specific devices. Each device is listed in the form of its IP address.

Double-click on a device to view its logs. Click on the Clear Logs button to erase its history.

Remember: Linksys routers require that you enable the logging feature to allow you to view browsing history.

Step 6: Clear your browser history

You should still delete your browser history even after you have deleted your Wi-Fi router’s history. Make sure that you have cleared all history from your browser. If you do not, it will be futile to delete the router history.

These steps may not work. Contact your local IT specialist for assistance.

Clear Router Cache: Alternative Clear Router History

Clearing your router’s cache is an alternative to clearing its browsing data. The router’s cache is the area that stores setting instructions. You will need to reset your router to clear the cache.

Some router brands may also allow you to delete your router history. Here’s how it works:

  • Use a small object, such as a paperclip, to press the reset button. Most routers have it at the back.
  • Keep the paperclip or another object in your hand until the lights on the router go out. Now, clear the cache.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *